Beginner’s Guide to Cutting Out Processed Foods and Refined Sugar

Hello!

So this video I actually recorded and uploaded onto Youtube the same day as my Processed Food Free for 1 Year- Story and Results Video, and thought I had posted it on here as well.  However, apparently I missed posting it here, so here it is! 🙂

In this video I give an explanation of what processed foods are, what foods I eat when trying to eat real foods (and avoid processed foods and refined sugar), what to avoid, and what to look for.  This video did end up much longer than I really had intended it to be, but it gives overall answers to the questions I list above.  Enjoy!

Have a sunny day!

~Kim

Please note: If you are worried about starting this type of diet, or whether it is right for you, please consult your doctor.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 12:15:30

    Just found your blog when researching non processed diets and am inspired by your story! I’d like to lose about 30 pounds and my husband is diabetic. We’ve been trying low carb but it’s really hard. We plateaued on our weight loss and have started slipping on our diet. We are hoping that this will shake things up for us. I’m nervous about eating whole grains as hubby saw a real improvement in his blood sugars when we went off carbs but since he’s not sticking to it anyway this is definitely worth a shot! My hardest part will be limiting the dairy – I love my cheese. I’ll be checking back here to hear more from you. Thanks!

    • sunnymothernature
      Aug 19, 2012 @ 19:07:42

      Hi Rebecca!

      I’m so happy to hear that my story has inspired you! (I’m sorry that I didn’t respond sooner~ I’ve been so busy that my blog was what ended up being neglected for a little). I hope that cutting out processed foods and refined sugar helps you and your husband. You do not need to worry about whole grains~ If you and your husband feel better with less carbs, then that may be what is best for your bodies. And limiting dairy was definitely one of the hardest things for me too~ I used to just have a block of cheese out, and I would just keep cutting pieces off of it while I snacked. What helped me is that I switched completely over to only organic dairy, and I make sure that I get one correct-sized serving out at one time, and that I do not go back for seconds. I also now think of cheese as a treat, not a meal 😉 Organic dairy is more expensive than regular dairy~ That by itself helps me to think of it more as a treat, and helps me to consume only 2 servings a day. I hope all of this helps, and good luck! 🙂

      Have a sunny day! 🙂
      ~Kim