Processed Food Free for 1 Year: Story and Results!

Hi everyone!

Back on April 23, 2012 (as I was preparing for the college semester to close within a few weeks), was my 1 Year anniversary of starting the No Processed Foods and Processed (Refined) Sugar Challenge, AKA The Real Food Challenge!

Partly in celebration of this, I recorded a video a few days ago explaining what personally led me to decide that I wanted to stop eating processed foods and refined sugar.Ā  Closer to the end of the video I do also talk about the results I have seen since following this for a year! (I do want to clarify- I lost the 35 lbs. between April 2011 and November 2011.Ā  I have not lost any more weight since then.)Ā  As always, if you have any questions, please feel free to ask! šŸ™‚

Have a sunny day!

~Kim

Please Note: If you are worried about starting this type of diet, or want to know whether it’s right for you, please consult your doctor.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Beginner’s Guide to Cutting Out Processed Foods and Refined Sugar « Sunny Mother Nature
  2. Cindy
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 09:57:43

    Hi! So glad to see your results are so positive. I’m sure it was Hard work! I used to have cytic acne myself in my late 20’s. I still battle acne in my early 40’s now. I take Minocin prescribed by my Derm. to help keep it under control (I have an underactive thyroid which I treat too, and devoloped Vitiligo on my hands and armpits last year). I’m thinking of trying to cut out as much of the sugar as I can. I do use alot of it. I am wondering if it will help both the acne and vitiligo?? Worth a shot. How do you feel about RAW sugar? Do you use it and feel its OK? Look forward to hearing back from you:)

    • sunnymothernature
      Jun 11, 2012 @ 11:32:20

      Hi Cindy!

      I’m so sorry it took me a little to write back. I’ve been so busy this week, so I haven’t been able to keep up with my blog.

      Thank you! It has been a lot of consistent work to help my acne- but definitely worth it. šŸ™‚ I’m sorry to hear that you are still battling acne now, along with dealing with thyroid issues and Vitiligo. I think cutting out sugar would help your acne, but I just do not know if it will help with vitiligo. I agree with you though- it’s worth a shot! šŸ™‚

      I have not used any raw sugar since cutting out refined sugar a year ago, although I did use it occasionally about five years ago. I probably would not recommend using raw sugar though because I still feel it is too close to refined white sugar. However, if you are curious whether you could use it, maybe after cutting out sugar for a couple of months, try using a little raw sugar-and within a week (if not a couple of days) you would probably be able to see whether it is ok in small amounts for you, by looking at how your skin is doing.

      For me, I typically use local pure honey as a sweetener. Honey is a natural anti-bacterial, so it naturally helps with acne- I even use it as my face cleanser! šŸ˜‰ I don’t add organic cane sugar to anything, but I do very occasionally eat processed organic foods that do use organic cane sugar, and I do not seem to have issues with that. šŸ™‚ So if honey is not an option for you, you could try using very small amounts of organic cane sugar too, or possibly stevia, white agave, or molasses. I hope this helps you, and let me know how it is going for you! šŸ™‚

      Have a sunny day!
      ~Kim

      • Cindy
        Jun 11, 2012 @ 12:07:49

        Thanks Kim!! I love your blog.. and all of your personal journey’s results.. I agree, everyone is different. But, going in a healthy direction is always a good thing! I think I’m going to go w/the organic cane sugar when needed:) (my coffee) haha The skin is such a tough one to correct.. my vitiligo I feel is Vitamin/supplement related along w/stress ofcourse. Working on that. I repig in some areas, lose it a little in others. I’m lucky, I have it minimally. Well, thanks for getting back to me. I look forward to reading your updates. Orig got linked thru you, through a Josie Maran Argan Oil link. (i’ve met her several times/worked on QVC w/her once.. she is amazing!!) I swear by the Argan Oil too:) Hope you have a great day!! HOT here in Downingtown PA Today!!!!! Cindy

      • sunnymothernature
        Jun 15, 2012 @ 20:22:14

        Hi Cindy!

        You’re absolutely welcome šŸ™‚ And thank you! Yes, organic cane sugar will probably work better with coffee than honey. My boyfriend did try coffee once with honey~ apparently it did not taste very good. šŸ˜‰

        I agree with you~ Any issues with skin are definitely tough to correct. I hope you are able to find what helps stop/reverse your vitiligo very soon! šŸ™‚

        That’s awesome that you first heard of my blog through a Josie Maran Cosmetics link, and that you have even met her and worked with her! She seems so sweet. And Argan Oil is just wonderful! It has been seriously hot here in PA, although recently it seems to have decided that it would rain a lot around here too. šŸ™‚

        Have a sunny day!
        ~Kim

