Using Less Plastic Challenge

Hello!

My last quest has been to cut out processed foods and sugar, which has been going really well!  I still have a couple more weeks in the challenge, but I am definitely going to continue this lifestyle change long after my challenge has “ended.” 

But while I was studying for my finals at the beginning of May, a new quest started to show itself to me.

So, what is my latest quest?  To use less plastic! 

This is my next challenge I am going to work on.  So much plastic used by us ends up in our oceans: some places in the ocean have more small pieces of plastic than plankton!  And the scariest thing?  None of the plastic that has ever existed is gone:  It all still exists today!  It only breaks down into smaller and smaller molecules.  It does not biodegrade.

The problem is somewhat recycling~not enough people are concisously recycling everything they possibly can.  Another problem is that not all plastic can be recycled, especially in all areas.

But the biggest problem?  We are consuming way too much plastic!

 The solution?  Using less plastic in our lives!  Go out of your way to find non-plastic packaging, or non-plastic alternatives to what you need, or want to buy. 

It will help our oceans, our environment (we only get one Earth) and it will help protect our health from harmful chemicals in plastics! 

 Want some inspiration to get you started?  Look up the Great Pacific Garbage Patch to help inspire you to save our oceans, or read other bloggers quests to use less plastic! 

Here are some of my favorites:  Jeanne Haegele at www.lifelessplastic.blogspot.com (This blog is where I found the awesome video below.  Sadly, she hasn’t written a post in over a year, but she still has some awesome tips and blog posts); and Beth Terry at www.myplasticfreelife.com (She is continuously writing and updating her blog, and there is so much information here!) 🙂

3 Ways I’ve Already Reduced My Plastic Consumption

1) By taking reusable shopping bags with me (instead of using plastic grocery bags)

2) By bringing my own drink in a reusable container (instead of buying a drink in a plastic bottle)

3) By using soap instead of body wash (which is packaged in plastic)

I have used a grocery shopping bag, bought a plastic bottle of water, and used body wash all within the past couple of months (if not within the past couple of weeks), but I have already begun to lower my plastic consumption just with these three items!

Check back soon for more ways I am cutting out plastic.  🙂

If we all would truly notice just how much plastic surrounds us 24/7, day in and day out, 1) You would be surprised and shocked (I have been!) and 2) many of us would begin to wonder how much plastic is really safe for our health?

Watch the video below to help inspire you to start cutting back on the amount of plastics in your life! 🙂

~Kim

Comments are closed.

