The Different Perceptions of Co-Washing and Wen

Wen or Co-Washing?

In the past couple weeks, while I was talking to different people about Wen and Co-Washing, I began to notice a similar theme.  All of them seemed to be able to accept Wen more than Co-Washing, even after I pointed out that both work exactly the same on my hair, and the price of the two is essentially what is different. I think they believed me, but they were still not really convinced that it would be true for their own hair.

Which got me to thinking: Why does Wen have a more acceptable perception than Co-washing?

It seemed like an interesting question to me.  After all, to me, when I heard about Co-washing one month after starting Wen, I immediately thought that it was probably the same exact idea. 

But, did I start co-washing immediately after I heard about it?  No, I didn’t.  It took me six more months after that and spending lots of money on Wen Cleansing Conditioners to take the leap myself to finally try Co-washing. 

So, why is Wen more Acceptable than Co-washing?

I think it all has to do with how they are advertised. 

After all, Wen by Chaz Dean is advertised to be a Cleansing Conditioner.  With Wen, you don’t need shampoo!  That kind of comment, makes you wonder whether it truly works, but it is advertised that it is supposed to be used by itself, or with other Wen products.

How is conditioner advertised?  Use after your shampoo of the same brand! 

So, why wouldn’t someone question if Conditioner Washing really worked when we have been told all of our lives that conditioner was used for one thing, and one thing only~ to be used to moisturize your hair, after shampoo. 

Co-washing does go against everything that we are told about clean hair from when we are young. 

What happens to our hair when we normally shampoo our hair and then use too much conditioner?  We believe our hair will become oily, greasy, and weighed down.

But, I am here to tell you (after Co-Washing my hair for three months now) that Co-Washing does NOT make your hair oily, greasy, or weighed downas long as you use the right conditioners and cleanse your hair once a month~ and these are the SAME conditions (no pun intended 😉 ) that Wen users need to follow as well

However, with Wen you use different Wen products. 

With Co-Washing, you may need to use one V05 brand conditioner, one Suave brand conditioner, and then, to cleanse your hair, either with a shampoo once a month, or (like me) Wen Cucumber Aloe Cleansing Conditioner once a month.

It’s really the advertising that gets to us that makes us wonder whether Co-Washing will actually work as well as Wen!  So, if you’re trying to decide between Wen Cleansing Conditioners and Co-Washing, pick which one truly works in your budget because both work! 🙂

If you would like more details on the differences between Wen and Co-Washing, please click on the link to go to my Blog Posts on Wen vs. Co-Washing here: https://sunnymothernature.wordpress.com/category/wen-cleansing-conditioners-vs-conditioner-washing-aka-co-washing/

If you have any questions, or comments, feel free to leave them below!

Have a sunny day!

~Kim 

Please Note: I am not affiliated, nor did I receive compensation or products from, Suave, V05, or Wen by Chaz Dean.  All of the Suave, V05 and Wen I have bought and a couple were bought by my family for me for presents, and one Suave was bought by my boyfriend. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 22:46:09

    I just looked up the ingredients for Suave conditioners and they contain dimethicone which is a silicone product. I thought that to do CO you need to stay away from any products with silicone. Please clarify for me. Thanks. I have been a WEN user also and loved how my hair felt and looked but I just can’t afford it anymore. I cleanse my hair everyday and can’t do 10 pumps a day!

    • sunnymothernature
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 11:31:21

      Hi Cathy!

      Thank you for commenting. Yes, the Suave conditioners do have a couple silicones. Wen Cleansing Conditioners, however, actually have a couple silicones in them as well. I believe there are different types of silicones, like some are water soluble silicones while others are not, but I just am not sure (I’ve researched silicones but not enough to be able to determine which silicones are which).
      So, avoiding silicones to co-wash your hair is not neccessary, although many people still do.

      Suave conditioners- Milk and Honey, Rosemary and Mint, and Men’s conditioner, are the three types of Suave conditioners that are good co-washing conditioners. (the first and third ones I’ve heard about, but can’t find in stores; the rosemary and mint is the one I decided to try myself). The any other Suave conditioner tends to be too thick and too moisturizing for regular co-washing use. Even with the Rosemary and Mint conditioner though, I would recommend switching with a V05, or another recommended co-washing conditioner, just to make sure that your hair is being cleansed but not being stripped too much by the conditioners.

      Having said that, I am not a huge fan of silicones myself, and I no longer wish to support Suave anymore either. I am just using up my Suave Rosemary Mint conditioner by alternating days with the Avalon Organics Nourishing Conditioner in Lavender. It is about $20 at Target. So, it’s not as cheap as Suave, but it is much more affordable than Wen. (I was trying something other than co-washing for a while, but it just was not working for my hair). So far, I’ve been liking it as a co-washing conditioner. However, I’ve only been using the Avalon Organics conditioner for maybe a month and a half now, so I’m not sure how well it’ll work in the long run, but if it does work well continuously as a co-washing conditioner, I’ll write a post for it.

      I do absolutely understand though- I started trying co-washing and left Wen because of the price. Wen really is too expensive, especially to have ingredients (silicones along with others) that are questionable.

      Have a sunny day!
      ~Kim

  2. Deborah
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 21:50:49

    Hi. I loved loved loved reading this because I am a Wen user who is down to her last bit and cannot afford more at the moment so I have spent lots of time, effort and $$ lately trying to figure out what to do before ruining what I have been working for! I will start CO washing tonight, I do wonder though, do you have any recommendations for a conditioner for CO washing that is sulfate, paraben, ‘cone etc etc free? I think I am going to start with Giovannis Triple Threat Tea Tree Conditioner.

    • sunnymothernature
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 18:32:13

      Hi Deborah!

      Thanks for your comment and your question! Its wonderful to hear that you loved reading my post! That question is exactly what I’ve been asking myself for at least the past month and that I’ve been trying to find an answer for. The conditioner that I found and that I’m trying out right now is Atria Naturals Rosemary Mint Conditioner. I found it at Wegman’s for $9.99.

      Basically the ingredients that I try to avoid are: silicones, parabens, sulfates, Phenoxyethanol, “fragrance” or “parfum” as an ingredient listing, any coloring added, (Vitamin A) Retinyl Palmitate, Petrolatum, Mineral Oil, and Proplyene Glycol. (there are probably more but I can’t remember them right now 🙂 )

      And this conditioner does not have any of these. So far, this seems like a really wonderful co-washing conditioner. However, I’ve only found it and started using it about two weeks ago, so I don’t feel that I can give a definite recommendation for this until I’ve used it for at least a month.

      I’ll comment back at the beginning of July and write a blog post letting you know whether this is a really nice Co-Washing conditioner or not! Sadly, this is the only conditioner I’ve found so far that I really liked the ingredients of. I’ll let you know if I find any others.

      I just looked up the Giovanni Tea Tree Conditioner and that sounds promising as a co-washing conditioner. Let me know how that goes for you. I might try that one too 🙂

      Have a sunny day!
      ~Kim

      Here are the ingredients listed for Atria Naturals Rosemary Mint Conditioner: Deionized Water (Aqua), Cetyl Alcohol, Rosmarius Officianalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Cetyl Alcohol (this is listed again), Stearalkonium Chloride, Polyquaternium 11, Olealkonium Chloride, Peppermint (Menta Piperia) Oil, Panthenol, Glycerin, Jajoba (Buxus Chinensis) Oil, Wheat Amino Acid, Tocopherol, Grapefruit (Citrus Grandis) Seed Extract, Diazolidinyl Urea, Quaternium 22.

