Blog Post Preview: Wen Cleansing Conditioners vs. Co-Washing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi everyone!

So, I started using Wen By Chaz Dean Cleansing Conditioners in July of 2010 because my hair was becoming more and more tangled and dry. It was so tangled by last Spring that I would have to drench my hair with detangler 3-6 times a day and attempt to comb my hair. Wen was my last resort. Between then and a little over two weeks ago, Wen was the only thing I used on my hair (I used the Wen flavors- from favorite type to least favorite-lavender, sweet almond mint, tea tree, and cucumber aloe). I have not shampooed my hair since July of 2010 (although it was shampooed once in August when I got my hair cut).

I did really like Wen, but there were things about it that I felt made it that I could no longer justify the price IF there was another less expensive alternative that worked the same as, or better than, Wen.

This is what then lead me to try the idea called Conditioner Washing, aka Co-Washing.

The idea is basically the same as Wen Cleansing Conditioners, but instead of buying a specific kind (like Wen) you buy a cheap conditioner and massage it into your scalp(much like Wen) but then use a better quality conditioner on your ends. You massage the cheap conditioner on your scalp for about 3-5 minutes, rinse it out, then put the better quality conditioner in your hair from the middle of your head through to your ends and leave in for a couple of minutes, then rinse out.

I am going to do a full review and comparison between Wen and Co-washing in about a month, after I’ve been non-stop co-washing for 1 1/2 months by then. I don’t want to give a review on co-washing until then.

Stay tuned! 🙂

If you want to try Wen, the places I recommend ordering it are at QVC at www.qvc.com
or at Chaz Dean’s Studio’s website, www.chazdean.com

Both of these places you can order just a one-time shipment, but the more awesome thing is that you have 6 choices of flavors to choose from. Each “flavor” is meant for a different hair type/hair problem. Sweet Almond Mint, and Pomegranate are the two universal ones for all hair types. My favorite is Lavender which is volumizing and the 2nd most moisturizing flavor.

If you want to try Co-washing, the cheap conditioners other people online have recommended are Suave Milk and Honey, VO5, or Suave for Men Strengthening. I could not find either of the two Suave ones, so the ones I’ve been using are Suave Invigorating Clean with Rosemary & Mint, and VO5 Strengthening.

If you would like to read more of my blog posts on Co-Washing vs. Wen, please click the link to go to my Wen vs. Co-Washing Category : https://sunnymothernature.wordpress.com/category/wen-cleansing-conditioners-vs-conditioner-washing-aka-co-washing/

Or, you can also click on the “Wen Cleansing Conditioners vs. Conditioner Washing” on the right side of the page under Categories.

Have a sunny day and check back for a full review in a month! 🙂
~Kim

UPDATE: I forgot to mention but you definitely want to have a hair clip to hold your hair up when you are in the shower, whether you are using Wen, or if you’re co-washing.  I used it to hold up my hair after I massaged in the Wen and before I rinsed it out, as well as after I rinsed out the Wen.  When I co-wash, I use it to hold up my hair while I leave my good conditioner on my ends for a couple of minutes, as well as after I rinse my hair I like to use it to keep my hair up off of my back.

Also, I originally believed that shampooing your hair about once a month was optional with co-washing.  It isn’t.  You definitely want to wash your hair about once a month with shampoo.  This does not apply with Wen Cleansing Conditioners.  You do not need to shampoo your hair while using Wen.

Please Note: I am not affiliated with QVC, Chaz Dean, Wen by Chaz Dean, Suave, or VO5; nor was I given any of these products. Most of my Wen, Suave, and VO5 I bought myself, but some were gifts from my family, and my boyfriend did buy a Suave for me. Part of the reason I’m trying co-washing is because of how much money I’ve spent on Wen.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stephanie
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 21:42:16

    I was thinking about doing this. I was going to try the vo5 moisture milks conditioner because I couldn’t find suave milk and honey until I saw that you use the suave rosemary mint. now I think I will try it. i will let you know how it turns out.

    • sunnymothernature
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 21:31:36

      Hi Stephanie~ Thanks for commenting!

      Definitely try it! I do really like the Suave Rosemary and Mint. I just keep going back to it as my main co-washing conditioner. And I’ve been wondering if the Suave Milk and Honey was discontinued because I still haven’t seen it (it’s almost like the Loch Ness monster 😉 ).

      I can’t wait to hear how it works for you! And I haven’t heard of that V05 Moisture Milk Conditioner… I may have to try that 🙂

      Have a sunny day!
      ~Kim

  2. Tonilakaya Peeples
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 04:24:03

    Peepla@peWen is what happens when Hollywood discovers and renames a common thing. Cowashing has been around for decades…at least 3 of them since I’ve been doing it for 30 years. I’m allergic to soaps and shampoos…don’t use them, but I have soft, shiny, clean curly hair. And no…you don’t actually have to use shampoo once a month…for product build up which is what you are discribing you simply add a tbs of baking soda to the wash portion of the routine. Also…I rinse with vinegar and water as a final rinse. Then I take a small amount of the conditioner and run it thru my hair as a detangler/styler and I’m done. Don’t feed the money sharks buying into their hype…50 for 32 oz vs 1.99 for suave…I go with suave. It works. Its been working for years. Just like with shampoo your hair gets used to the smae product all the time so switch it up every now and then. Personally I use protien conditioner one out of every 4 times. Usually the wash where I’m also deep conditioning…moisturizing conditioners the rest of the time. Just my 2 cents worth.

    • sunnymothernature
      Jul 06, 2011 @ 20:57:04

      Hi Tonilakaya,

      Thanks for the comment! I do agree- Wen is sadly just an expensive Hollywood version of co-washing. (I do still like it though 😉 )

      Thanks for the suggestion of baking soda too~ I’ll try that when I cleanse my hair of buildup, instead of my remaining Wen Cucumber Aloe (I haven’t gone back to shampoo 😉 ). And the vinegar would be awesome for anyone to try that can tolerate the smell of vinegar 🙂

      You’re right though~ Suave works amazing and is much more affordable for most people to try, while Wen can be more out of reach.

      Whether co-washing works depends completely on what conditioners a person uses, and switching up conditioners definitely helps to keep co-washing working 🙂

      Have a sunny day!
      ~Kim

  3. Jessica
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 00:22:22

    Oooh rosemary and mint. I still haven’t tried the co-washing. D: I can’t wait to hear how it plays out.

    • sunnymothernature
      Mar 19, 2011 @ 18:19:55

      Hi Jess!

      I really like the Suave Rosemary and Mint Conditioner! Out of the conditioners I have tried with co-washing, this is the one most similar to Wen because (although I do this one Wen step in two steps with co-washing) I can use it on both my roots, and then use it on my ends as well! The other conditioners are either way too moisturizing, or way too drying. Plus it smells like spearmint!

      But I think you should try co-washing too! So far I like it just as much as Wen, and I know you really liked Wen too 🙂

      Thanks for commenting! Ttyl
      ~Kim

